Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

WIP-Ca'tra Cuyan-Female modern

• 2 Replies
WIP-Ca'tra Cuyan-Female modern
« on: Dec 05, 2017, 08:49 PM »
Okay..here goes..

This is my first build. I have recently submitted my pics for pre-app and have received feedback on things I need to work on. I never started a WIP post so here it is! Hopefully this helps someone else.

Bo Katan was my first idea. After trying to mimic those plates, I came to the realization that those were not going to work for my body type and look good.

So I was struggling with what I wanted to do and a friend came over and helped shape a chest plate for me. (It was actually my husband's old chest plate) and I loved it. So I went with the galaxy template and modified it to what I liked. Everything on my kit was made as I went. I didn't really have a design in mind. I created one piece at a time until I was satisfied with it. My goal with my kit was to make something that made little girls excited about Star Wars. There aren't many female characters so I wanted to give them one they could freak out over.

Soft Parts
This was the beginning of my soft parts. I started with the soft parts and worked my way out. I figured this was the easiest to do.

This fabric was my inspiration for my kit

I originally made my vest with lace up on the side, but opted to sew the sides shut and have it secure in the middle of my back with velcro so it would be easier to put it on and take it off. I also had to make alterations because my vest was too baggy so I added princess seams to it. Made a world of a difference.