Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today!
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Questions about making a flak vest

• 7 Replies
Questions about making a flak vest
« on: Dec 16, 2017, 09:47 AM »
So I want to try my hand at making a flak vest. I've very little sewing experience outside of making a few simple skirts and some plushes I've made, though. And then there is the problem that I'm a bit, well, chunky. I've been looking around at some of the threads on the forum here, Point's vest thread in particular. Still I want to ask if anyone has any advice on the matter? Like what sorts of things would I need to keep in mind given that I'm female and have a large bust? I know that was an issue with my chest plates and we had to get help with making a new pattern and fitting them, which involved darts and such. Also, how do I measure things? I've heard some things about bras being a picky matter with things fitting exactly right too and was wondering if anyone could expand on that a bit.

Any tips on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Ni haati talyc, ni haati ge'talyc.

OriKad

• The Grizzled Old Sergeant of Mav Oya'la Clan
  • Awards Force Hunter Brigade Member Special Weapons 267th Rapid Assault Hard Contact - Clan with the most recorded invasions Airmobile brigade member
Re: Questions about making a flak vest
« Reply #1 on: Dec 16, 2017, 10:54 AM »
If you can do plushes, you can do shapewear.  For a female form I recommend starting with a corset pattern.  I've used both Simplicity #9966 and McCall's #3681 for vests for women.  You just have to add shoulders, upper chest, and neck to them, which you can make from any shirt pattern.  The corset part of the pattern provides support and structure, which is important for a Mando flak vest because it holds up your plates.