Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Lynx's Junk/Scrap jetpack build

• 5 Replies
Lynx's Junk/Scrap jetpack build
« on: Jul 28, 2018, 02:02 PM »
Working on a budget for my accessories since the soft parts and sintra are going to cost me an arm and a leg anyways, so i started working today on a jetpack made entirely of scrap and junk parts.  I'm a maintenance technician for an apartment complex, so I always have access to a lot of old/used parts or spare parts that come with things we order but dont need to use.

This jetpack build started out with a wall insert used for washer/dryer connections (the little box that the supply line pipes come out of).  This particular insert had the pipes removed for a repair, and the box itself was the wrong type for what we have here, so it made for a free and easy base to start building off of.  For the exhaust nozzles, I used two kitchen faucet sprayer bases threaded through the base, and glued on two toilet bolt caps for the final nozzles.  I cut out the center of the base and used an old showerhead water softener attachment that had been left by a previous tenant, threading it through the top and fitting it at an angle with a nail:

Next I wanted to create a shroud around the base to make it a little bigger, a little bulkier, and not quite so squared off.  I used the motor housing from a ceiling fan, cutting it to fit the base inside as best I could.  I also filled the base with expanding foam to fill in some of the gaps around the water softener.  it will require quite a bit of touchup work once that foam dries/hardens in order to make everything smooth again, but it was all I had available at the time: