Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Assembling 3D printed helmet

• 17 Replies

Valyn Skirata

• Laughing at your method of travel since 3,997 BBY
Assembling 3D printed helmet
« on: Jan 19, 2019, 06:06 PM »
Greetings vode an,
I'm planning on 3D-printing a helmet once our new 3D printer comes in, and I was wondering what the best way to combine the separate parts? I was thinking some epoxy and then using fiberglass strips and epoxy. Would this be doable and sandable? Is there a better way to make it look seamless?

When a Mando messes with the bull, he gets the steak!

Add me on PSN at et99khan!

Jag Cabur

• Call me 'Sparky.'
Re: Assembling 3D printed helmet
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 2019, 07:10 PM »
I have no experience with 3D printing, but I do have experience with model making. 

What you want to do is find some thin rods, such as a wooden skewer or a thick paperclip. 

Take the two pieces you want to join together and drill shallow holes into the connecting surfaces, just wide enough to fit the rods you have and no deeper than your little fingernail.  Make sure the holes line up from piece to piece.

Test the fit of your pieces, you don't want to find that you made a rod too long.

Once the fit is confirmed, apply your chosen adhesive to the surfaces you're joining together and join the pieces.

Once the adhesive has set, you can freely apply bondo and what have you to hide the seams.

I hope this helps.

Hand me my thinking grenades.

Valyn Skirata

« Reply #2 on: Jan 19, 2019, 07:32 PM »
Thanks, but I don't think this helps with a helmet, the surfaces curve too soon, and I think that the walls are too thick, but once I get and examine the files it may be possible. If it is possible though, this would be a great way! I'll keep this updated!

Sep Ho'ban