Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Help with compact RF unit

• 5 Replies

Bucket Commander

• I'm what you would call a "Really Cool Guy"
Help with compact RF unit
« on: Nov 11, 2021, 12:01 PM »
Hello all, I'm currently in the process of making my own mando. For the helmet, I decided to have a compact rangefinder unit instead of the traditional visor or antenna stalk. The unit will feature two vetical holes in the earpiece that fit two 3mm LED holders, and on the top will be a hole for a small antenna segment. My issue is this;

I want to have a red and a green LED in the holders, the green will be a static on and the red will be blinking (preferably about 30 blinks per minute). I have little to none experience with making these things, but my dad says I can buy blinking LEDs without having to make a complicated board. The only issue is, these blinkers blink about 90 times per minute, at about 1.5hz. Could someone help me with making a simple circuit to produce what I'm looking for, or propose a different solution? Much appreciated.

Ruug'la Carud

• kyr'am ra kote
  • Awards Mobile Engineers Brigade Member 15+ clan level invasions Family events Special Weapons EnviroOps
Re: Help with compact RF unit
« Reply #1 on: Nov 11, 2021, 03:33 PM »
for my kit i always buy leds rated for 9-12v off of ebay or amazon. theyre prewired with the resistor and pigtail wires so all you need is a 9v battery and switch. you can get most colors in static, flickering or flashing.

Bucket Commander

« Reply #2 on: Nov 11, 2021, 11:49 PM »
for my kit i always buy leds rated for 9-12v off of ebay or amazon. theyre prewired with the resistor and pigtail wires so all you need is a 9v battery and switch. you can get most colors in static, flickering or flashing.