Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today!
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Vac forming helmets?

• 12 Replies
Vac forming helmets?
« on: Jul 11, 2013, 08:56 AM »
So iv been looking in to vacuum forming recently as my last scratch build had some problems that i don't think i can fix. So my main question and discussion point is can you make decent vac formed helmets and if i built a vac forming machine big enough to make all components ( mainly back plate is the size issue) Will i still get the sweet results? I am a complete noob to vac forming so all help and advice/tips will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for reading.

Hondo Karr

• Awards Award for 25 official invasions. Team Player - 1 of 2 Official Members who are best Matching Pair Shock Infantry Brigade Member Poster Boy - Official Member appears in costume in the most photos Award for 10 official invasions.
Re: Vac forming helmets?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 11, 2013, 09:08 AM »
The Mandalorian Arsenal currently does vac'd helmets and BradleyFett used to (but he has disappeared). They come out pretty good but, since they are typically in several pieces, they take a bit of work.

« Reply #2 on: Jul 11, 2013, 09:48 AM »
So if i did dome , face ,back and ear caps. I was seeing a whole model vertically placed and formed vertically. from the sounds of it that wouldn't work. thanks for the reply i will look in to the arsenals kit.

Hondo Karr

• Awards Award for 25 official invasions. Team Player - 1 of 2 Official Members who are best Matching Pair Shock Infantry Brigade Member Poster Boy - Official Member appears in costume in the most photos Award for 10 official invasions.
« Reply #3 on: Jul 11, 2013, 11:10 AM »