Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

First helmet

• 29 Replies

Peg

First helmet
« on: May 31, 2015, 12:33 PM »
I received my helmet last weekend. After adding the ear bobbles, filling and sanding and prepping it, I started painting it this weekend. I had to share before I got finished because I'm just so excited. I have to finish taking off the weathering but this is it so far. I'm pretty happy with the paint job.   

Color slightly off in the picture but you still get a good idea of it.

Havelock

• I probably have a link for that.
  • Awards Celebration Anaheim 2022 6 or more Education Points in a single year. Award for 10 official invasions. Order of the Ori'Ramikad Celebration Orlando 2017
Re: First helmet
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2015, 12:43 PM »
Nice.  I'm curious as to what the raised areas are, though.  I'm completely new at all this and have none of my materials for building a kit.  All I have to go off is what I see here on the forum and I haven't seen any buckets with that effect and was just curious.

"Sometimes it's better to light a flamethrower than curse the darkness."  - Terry Pratchett
Have you explored all that the Royal War College of Mandalore has to offer?

Peg

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2015, 12:53 PM »
The raised areas you're looking at a probably the rocksalt weathering. It's an old miniatures modeling trick for creating natural looking chips.

Havelock

• Awards Celebration Anaheim 2022 6 or more Education Points in a single year. Award for 10 official invasions. Order of the Ori'Ramikad Celebration Orlando 2017
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2015, 02:17 PM »
Ooooooo.  Very cool.  I'm always noting new tips and tricks for weathering to try when I eventually start building my kit.  Thanks!

"Sometimes it's better to light a flamethrower than curse the darkness."  - Terry Pratchett