Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Rangefinder with camera and display

• 12 Replies
Rangefinder with camera and display
« on: Jun 30, 2017, 01:47 AM »
I started this idea because I thought it would be cool. Then I started searching... And searching... Found some ideas about back facing cameras and thoughts on a rangefinder but nothing that would actually work. I'm an electronics engineer/technician so I figured I had nothing to lose except some time. I started searching for parts. I have about 2 days of spare time in this design researching and making all the drawings. Note that I use free and open source software for online publishing as well as a lot of my own personal stuff so I can always share files or at least a semi compatible version of my originals.

Note: If electronics terms, electricity, and components you can fry by touching them bothers you, hit the back button now. I will be glossing over some things. This isn't for newbies. Just attempting this build will likely void any warranty there was on the parts. In all honesty, there are some fat fingered "technicians" I wouldn't give this build to.

Here is what I found:
Miniature (micro?) pinhole cameras with a microphone and composite video output $15-$20. The one I based this design off of has infrared LED's mounted around the camera. You can also use an alternate camera without the infrared "night vision" which may be smaller and give you a cleaner or easier install. Another alternative is to remove the infrared LED's and it may still have decent "night vision".
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Micro-Mini-Hidden-Color-Audio-Spy-CCTV-Camera-Pinhole-Night-Vision-/261913185215

Miniature display with a composite video input $40.
https://www.adafruit.com/product/911