Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today!
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Helmet LED's - Need help

• 9 Replies

Coenn Jeenx

• Awards Celebration Chicago
Helmet LED's - Need help
« on: Jun 20, 2019, 07:19 PM »
To start off - I am a Mechanical Engineer but know only enough about electronics to be dangerous. I am working on a new helmet and want to add some nice slowly flashing LED's...sort of a breathing effect. I saw a post from Mandalore about a premade frequency generator chip that I bought for a few bucks and some cheap LED strands. Got the strands and connected my Power bank only to find out the voltage provided was a bit too low for the lights. No worries I though - found a small voltage boost chip for a few bucks that works great. 5 VDC in and 10-12 VDC out. Lights work great on constantly. Added an on/off switch - still works great. Finally get my Ne555 chip in the mail and connect the circuit only to nearly have a seizure. The flashing was insanely fast. Tried adjusting the knob on the chip to some improvement but even at the slowest I can make it, it is really fast.

I have tried to connect the Ne555 both before and after the voltage booster, both ways produce the same result - flashing but way too fast. I even tried taking the voltage booster out of the mix and using a 9vdc battery, but that had the same result - seizure inducing flashes.

I need help figuring out what I am doing wrong. Did I buy the wrong thing? Am I missing a resistor or something to slow it down? I am providing links to the two chips I bought below.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XHJ13RY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_image_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07MTZB2GD/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_image_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

OM#2100
"I reject your reality and substitute my own."
Adam Savage

Fi-8015