Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today!
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

McQuarrie concept WIP

• 6 Replies
McQuarrie concept WIP
« on: Apr 07, 2019, 03:03 PM »
Well what started as a fun personal helmet build has evolved into a kit build apparently. The helmet is not completed yet but I needed a change of pace. So to kick off my soft parts WIP, I decided to literally start from the ground up. These are the boots I found on Ebay.

After some logo removal and sole painting along with some minor details I have arrived at this stage.

Found a very helpful video on Youtube about painting rubber soles. 1 Part Mod Podge and 1 part acrylic paint. I have never tried this before so we will see how it holds up after a few weeks of use. I will only be able to complete the boots once I have some leg details done on the lower parts of the overall. Speaking of which -

It doesn't look like this anymore. Pockets are removed and I am in the process of tapering the legs using my wife's new sowing machine I got her for her birthday (she now believes I had ulterior motives for buying it for her). Major sowing projects on the suit. Many unusual seams and details but that's all part of the fun I suppose.
If you're interested in the helmet build, it can be found here https://mandalorianmercs.org/forum/index.php?topic=165235.0

Mavik

• Awards Award for 75 official invasions. EnviroOps Poster Boy - Official Member appears in costume in the most photos Recruitment - Clan with the largest number of new OM's in 12 months Heed the Call - helped the MMCC at a Star Wars Celebration
Re: McQuarrie concept WIP
« Reply #1 on: Apr 17, 2019, 12:33 AM »
I love seeing the concept art brought to life

« Reply #2 on: Apr 20, 2019, 03:04 AM »
Thanks Mavik! Quite a lot of unique problem solving to be done but I am enjoying it.

« Reply #3 on: Apr 29, 2019, 08:37 PM »