Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Finished my blaster

• 4 Replies
Finished my blaster
« on: Jan 17, 2020, 05:43 PM »
So first post from a newbie here.
This seems like a cool group with a lot more creative freedom than the 501st.  So here's my blaster for my mando character.  I haven't done a whole lot of research as of yet but part of the load out for my guy is going to be a blaster so I tried to make a blaster in the same vein of thought that the original production team did in the 70s.  Take something existing, batter it about, glue a bunch o stuff to it and make it look used.  So without further ado,

I based it on an DISABLED BB Gun resembling a Beretta 92 and used E6000 (my best friend) to adhere a bunch of junk I had lying about.

So I jumped the gun (pardon the pun) a bit here.  I went scavenging and thought I was done but it kept gnawing at me that I wasn't done.

Then more painting.  I should add that I painted the body with a glossy black and the grips with metallic gold before I assembled them. (Sorry no pics)  Then to "gunmetal" it up I had a leftover jar of Graphite Powder and painted it on with a combination of brush and paper towel.  Then sealed it with several coats of super hold hair spray.  Works for my drawings, why not props?

Finally, I weathered it by using a black/brown acrylic wash to get it greasy looking and for some random reason I scuffed it up with creamy yellow acrylic. 

Aaaaand that's the story.  Comments and criticism are welcome.  I am a loooong way from completion on the rest of the kit but I thought this'd be an easy, confidence boosting, win.

Re: Finished my blaster
« Reply #1 on: Jan 25, 2020, 10:58 PM »