Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

3D printed helmet help

• 4 Replies
3D printed helmet help
« on: Jan 15, 2021, 10:41 PM »
I have my heart set on this really nice 3D file for a helmet, with only one dilemma; I have no experience with 3D printing at all :/

My lack of a 3D printer itself isn’t really a problem, I’ve found tons of services that would provide a quote and print in approvable materials, but I couldn’t just order the helmet in the same scale as the file originally comes in, I’m 5’2 and would have to scale it down considerably.

So I guess my questions are, if I bought the file, could I download a program on my computer that would allow me to modify the model without having a printer myself

Or

If I use an online 3D printing service, could I alter the file I upload from the service?
Help is greatly appreciated, I’ve researched a lot and kinda hit a roadblock with this, and I don’t want to give up on the prospect of a 3D printed helmet.

« Last Edit: Jan 15, 2021, 11:03 PM by Bellonauniz » Logged
Re: 3D printed helmet help
« Reply #1 on: Jan 15, 2021, 10:52 PM »
I have a 3d printer that I'm still learning to use. If you don't mind working with a novice, I can help you out. As for programs, you can find lots of files on thingverse, and modify them. The program that I use is called "tinkercad". I haven't been using it long, but I've already made a modified design that I'm happy with.

« Reply #2 on: Jan 15, 2021, 11:26 PM »
I have a 3d printer that I'm still learning to use. If you don't mind working with a novice, I can help you out. As for programs, you can find lots of files on thingverse, and modify them. The program that I use is called "tinkercad". I haven't been using it long, but I've already made a modified design that I'm happy with.