Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today!
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Help with sizing for 3D print

• 6 Replies
Help with sizing for 3D print
« on: Feb 17, 2021, 05:33 AM »
Hello!

I'm going to be using an Ender 3 printer to make my base Mandalorian helmet based on the rounded cheek bucket as downloaded from this forum, but I'm not sure how to find the right size, and I don't want it to become too big or too small. My question is, how do you go about finding the right size for when you'll print the helmet? I have not 3D printed in a couple years at this point and I'm not very experienced to begin with.
Thanks in advance!

Kind regards,
Shore

Re: Help with sizing for 3D print
« Reply #1 on: Mar 04, 2021, 11:34 PM »
Hello, unfortunately I don't have an answer for you, as I have the same issue, so I bookmarked this thread until we both have an answer.

I plan to 3D-print the square-cheek bucket that can be found on this website, but I think my head is bigger than the default size (As I encounter the same issue when I'm casually wearing a hat) 

Maybe there is a scaleboard somewhere, about the ratio head-shape/helmet scale, but if there is any, I haven't found it yet.
What might be useful is to know for which size of head is the default size, so we could scale the printing according to our  head.

I am anyway planning to print default-size helmet and a smaller version (kind of Pop figurine size), because I want to test a few paint job

Hope we'll find what we're looking for   :cookie:   

Joshwright

• Awards Award for 10 official invasions.
« Reply #2 on: Mar 08, 2021, 09:38 PM »