Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

What clothing (Flak?) is appropiate, or best to use under your armor?

• 6 Replies
So I have been planning out my costume and I was starting to look at what use to attach the armor to. I am not at all good at sewing but I do know someone that can take things in, but I would primarily start with an actual piece of clothing. Are there certain types that you would suggest, or recommend? (I plan on using snaps to attach the armor to the fabric)

Hey, I'm Flobbit! I'm a noob cosplayer so give me the benefit of the doubt! <3 =)

Tramp Graphics

• Illustrator
There are a lot of options, as long as they meet the CRLs. You can go with the standard Fett style vest, a MOLLE/
Tactical vest (as long as the MOLLE straps are completely hidden or removed), a plate carrier, etc. I use an “armored” motorcycle vest with a front closure. Other vests will have side closures or back closures. There are plenty of vendors in the Mandalorian Supplies sub forums that make custom soft goods, including vests. As well as off the shelf vests that can be used with little to no modification. So, my suggestion is look around at what others are using, do a google search for “flack vests” or “tactical vests”, and see what looks good to you then run it by your clan Ruus’alors. As long as the vest meets the CRLs, there really is a lot of variation and options.

What about for pants. If I look for those other things, will I get results for them as well or is there something else I should look for those?

Hey, I'm Flobbit! I'm a noob cosplayer so give me the benefit of the doubt! <3 =)

Second Son

• Awards Special Weapons EnviroOps Special Operations Brigade Member
Tramp is spot on about your flak vest.