Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today!
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Flak vest

• 8 Replies
Flak vest
« on: Mar 28, 2022, 03:50 PM »
Hi,
I am new to making my first Mandalorian suit and i am looking for aan good flak vest for female,
Since i am very clumsy with making one. what do you guys recommend for an good flak vest.
I am leaning towards an post-imperial inspired design for armor.

Re: Flak vest
« Reply #1 on: Mar 31, 2022, 08:59 PM »
Commenting to follow the answer. Also researching PI soft parts too. Been thinking about a plate carrier, but not sure how viable those are, since I have zero sewing skills.

Senra Qiin

• Verd ori'shya beskar'gam
« Reply #2 on: Mar 31, 2022, 10:26 PM »
Iíd recommend looking at scrubs. They might need slight modifications depending on what you find but thatís much better compared to making a vest from scratch.

Hope this helps, vode!

ďBa'slan shev'laÖ gar serim.Ē - Emíila Neiwyn
(Profile picture by Sketchyitaliana)

Instagram is @senraqiin.

Tramp Graphics

• Illustrator
« Reply #3 on: Apr 01, 2022, 01:40 AM »
You might want to consider a tactical vest. You can get ones that close up the sides (typically with Velcro), or fromt closing. Depending upon the design, it may require little to no modifications.

Karl Dha'Werda

• MMCC Karl & Rex Dha'Werda &RL/TDE Karl Darklighter
  • Awards Award for 50 official invasions. 11+ Invasion Report Appearances Award for 10 official invasions. Award for 25 official invasions. Repeat appearance in the invasion reports
« Reply #4 on: Apr 01, 2022, 08:11 AM »
When my wife built her kit a few years ago she used an old leather jacket worn backwards with the sleeves cut off.  Alas it was also a modern kit, not PI.