Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Help needed: Programming of 8 segment displays

• 8 Replies
Help needed: Programming of 8 segment displays
« on: Feb 20, 2023, 11:16 AM »
Hello MMCC!

I've just bought a amount of vintage russian surplus 8 segment displays, in a very unusual layout (meant to display Cyrillic I believe), and intend to develop a basic alien language based on what these can display, and then create some pre-programmable gadgets using the displays. I've bought 30 displays, so I'll have more than I need myself.

The catch is I have no idea how to program these things, or where to start with something like this. I am completely new to electronics. I've seen a lot of people on here doing some amazing things though, so I'm hoping for some help!

Arminius

Re: Help needed: Programming of 8 segment displays
« Reply #1 on: Feb 20, 2023, 12:43 PM »
So, I have never seen one of those but I assume they work the same way regular 7-segment displays work just with an extra pin.

Here's a video by GreatScott, one of my favorite electronics youtubers, that explains 7-segment displays.

A 7-segment display has 8 pins in total. One of those pins is a common for all the segments, either the negative (cathode) or positive (anode) terminal. The other 7 pins each correspond to a segment. When you run a voltage between the common pin and each of the segments the LED inside the segment activates. If you're not sure if they're common anode or cathode you should google the serial number on the side and you should find the datasheet for that component, which tells you everything you need to know about it like its internal architecture, operational voltage, etc.