Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

First kit (Help!)

• 4 Replies
First kit (Help!)
« on: Mar 19, 2023, 02:27 PM »
Hey y’all! I’m looking to build my first Mercs quality mando costume and I could really use some help! I’ve built one before, but it was out of EVA foam and got smooshed flat. I’m also a broke college student, so I have a pretty finite budget.

I’d love some info on sourcing materials, DIY hacks, upcycling, anything that can help me save some money. Also, if anyone has any broken/severely damaged stuff they want to sell, I would LOVE to work something out with you :)

szamora

• Nov Kaade
Re: First kit (Help!)
« Reply #1 on: Mar 21, 2023, 09:01 AM »
I'm in a similar boat. If you're cool with sanding and painting the armor yourself, you can get relatively affordable raw 3D prints off Etsy. I bought my helmet for $45, plus the visor material which was around $15. Granted, the cheapest option is the gunslinger-style Din Djarin helmet-- you can get different styles, but they're more expensive. However, if you have access to a 3D printer (your college may have some) you can buy a digital file of your choice helmet and print it yourself.

« Last Edit: Mar 21, 2023, 10:32 AM by szamora » Logged

Tramp Graphics

• Illustrator
« Reply #2 on: Mar 21, 2023, 11:23 AM »
There are also a number of resin cast helmets available, as well as Vacuums formed ABS armors available as well. For the full DIY route, you have multiple options for materials, including 3mm-6mm Sintra or 1/6" ABS sheets, both of which are thermal plastic. There are also several YouTube tutorials on how to make a helmet out of 5 gallon buckets and hardhats/bicycle helmets.

Merky

« Reply #3 on: Mar 23, 2023, 01:49 PM »