Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today! (You will need to be logged into the store)
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

S-5 Heavy Blaster Pistol

• 4 Replies
S-5 Heavy Blaster Pistol
« on: May 31, 2013, 11:33 AM »
I'm new to prop building (and cosplay) but I have some experience with body work materials and a bit of fabrication experience from working on old cars and tractors. I've been thinking a lot about what I want for my first build. Of course weaponry is one of the first things I thought of. I have never particularly liked the pistols in SW, I've always favored the rifles. But I do like the S-5 Heavy Blaster Pistol from EP1. I have looked all over the internet and as far as I can tell no one has ever tried to make any of these pistols without the base Feinwerkbau/Beeman C55. I guess what I'm getting at is how hard do those of you with experience think it would be to make one of these pistols. They look rather complex in detail. Also input on what I could use to make them would be helpful.
Here's some references.
http://www.yourprops.com/Naboo-S-5-Heavy-Blaster-Pistol-replica-prop-weapons-Star-Wars-The-Phantom-Menace-1999-YP43752.html
http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/S-5_heavy_blaster_pistol

The base pistol before it was modded for the movies

The Naboo Officer version

ConDar Ward

• Al'jurir be Ori'ramikad
  • Awards Order of the Ori'Ramikad Award for 10 official invasions. Clan with the most recorded invasions in 2016/2017 Clan with the largest number of new OM's in 12 months Celebration Orlando 2017
Re: S-5 Heavy Blaster Pistol
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2013, 12:41 PM »
I can think of Several Reasons why not many have Duplicated this Weapon .  :rolleyes:

But the Top of the list may be :

1) Difficulty ,  followed Closely by ( 1a  Weight ) .
2) It would be Tough to Holster Properly . 2a (Custom Holster needed $ $ $ )
3) Cost /  3a Time needed to Template this sucker .