Don't like ads? Help support the Mercs by becoming a Supporter or Auxiliary Member today!
Official Members also get to use the forum ad-free - so kit up and join us!

Scratch Built Rangefinder and modified Don Post Helmet- COMPLETE

• 15 Replies
So I have had a Gon Post Boba Fett helmet for years. AND I MEAN YEARS. Like I got it as a kid in 97 or 98. Anyway, it has over the years been damaged, lost its range-finder and visor. But now I have decided to put it to use, so I am working on repairing the helmet while my armour is being shipped.

Now I am a dedicated hobbyist. I had been looking at buying a new rangefinder but then said to myself "Heck, I can make one easy"

First thing, here you can see where the missing ear piece is. I am going to use plasticard to make a replacement cover. Scroll on to find out what the nickels are for...

So here is my stem. It consists of a Plasticard (Styrene Sheet) I beam in the middile and a plasticard square tube on one side and a wooden dowel on the other. I made it about 15cm long.

THE NICKLES. So these are almost the PERFECT Size for the range finder mount. to pivot. A little adjustment with a dremmel and it will be perfect. I super glued the nickles together and then I epoxied the stem to them.

Here is what I made the range finder out of. It is 4 x 6 cm, 2 deep on the stem side, 1 on the inner side. Thickest on top, medium plasticard for the walls and the bottom is paper really thin and flexible plasticard, as that is easy to curve. I reinforced the inside with "green stuff" epoxy.  I then sanded down the edges the make it smooth all around

Filling in the dents and labels. I am going to sand them down next. Filled them in with "Grey" and "Green stuff" modelling epoxies

And finally (for now) I have built up the bottom of the left cheek a little to make it better match the right. I will sand this down too.

« Last Edit: Oct 28, 2015, 03:36 AM by Gothmog Balrog » Logged

Bowfanny

• When in doubt, be kind.